Town of Viking

You are here: Home Residents Sports News Brettzky Hockey Challenge Coming to Viking

Sports News

Brettzky Hockey Challenge Coming to Viking

Brettzky Challenge

The 2nd Annual Brettzky Hockey Challenge will be hosted at the Viking Carena Complex from June 16 - 19, 2016, in support of KidSport Alberta.

Brett and the Sutter family are delighted to bring this tournament to their hometown.

"Last year was a great success. With the funds raised we were able to help 80 kids participate in hockey across Alberta. With this year's efforts, we hope to shoot way past those numbers!" said Brett Sutter. Ten teams will participate in this year's three-day challenge. Last year, more than 150 guests came out to show their support and an incredible $14,075 was raised for KidSport Alberta from their inaugural event.

This tournament is critical to continue helping with the growing demand on KidSport resources. Brett Sutter, KidSport Alberta and the Town of Viking are hopeful this year's event will build on last year's successes.

The Brettzky Hockey Challenge was created by Brett Sutter, who wanted to do his part to help more kids get into hockey.

Council and Administration are extremely excited about this amazing opportunity for the community of Viking. The tournament will coincide with the annual Viking in the Streets Festival. The opportunity to not only promote our vibrant community and festival to the many players, families and spectators that will be attending the tournament but also support a tournament for such a wonderful cause does not come along very often.

The Vikings in the Streets Festival is a two-day family focused festival celebrating the Scandinavian heritage of the Town of Viking.

View full press release here.


Bookmark and Share

Viking Election

voteViking Election Results

October 16, 2017

Viking Mayor:

Vote Results:
Cindy Lefsrud - 161
Jason Ritchie - 225    - Elected

Councillors - All positions acclaimed

Judy Acres - Councillor
Dana Ewashko - Councillor
Maynard Huibers - Councillor
Rod Hunter - Councillor
Clinton Nearing - Councillor
Laurel Weisgerber - Councillor